20 Comments
Feb 22, 2023Liked by Elizabeth

Going to try to answer these without spoilers for future books. (Sorry, I told people to join along for this who are starting with the first book and only know about the first book. I'll let them know that there are spoilers.)

I think the first thing that stood out for me was that the mystery was secondary and the setting/characters were primary. A reversal of what you see in a traditional mystery novel. You could remove the mystery entirely and still have a good book. Fine, maybe one without a plot, but still a good story by giving a peek into the town, a la Garrison Keillor. I can't point to another mystery series (or standalone mystery) that does that.

Speaking generally, I think one of the drawbacks of series is you write (and publish) without knowing where you'll need people to be six books later. Series need to settle into themselves, and it seems a shame that you can't go back and edit those earlier stories so all the details align.

Again, trying to avoid spoilers for future books, but Peter struck me as vanilla pudding through this book. And in future books. He's solid. He's usually in the background. He's a stabilizing presence for Clara. But he always feels like even when he moves to the foreground of a story that he's still in the background.

One thing I also appreciated about this book is that it feels "shaded." Meaning, it's not entirely dark (looking at you, Gone Girl) or entirely light (cozy mysteries with baking themes). The ending is certainly dark, but many of the other moments feel cozy and light. I appreciated that complexity, and I think it's a hard line to walk as an author because you're not really giving a story that fits a single audience. You may end up with all unhappy readers. But Penny pulls it off and ends up making at least some readers (many readers if you go by book sales) happy.

Expand full comment
Feb 22, 2023Liked by Elizabeth

(1)  The well etched characters, the setting of Three pines and the entire vibe of the community really stood out for me. Penny created a charming, amicable world, like Stars Hollow of Gilmore girls 😃 

2) In the first book, Gamache is probably not willing to share the truth about his father. But I think it's more likely that Penny thought of this back story later to give more context to Gamache's personal struggles.

3)  I think Penny very clearly establishes that Gamache is intelligent but can make mistakes. He is also shown to mistakenly assume that Ben Hadley has a romantic interest in Clara.

4)  Peter is shown as an introverted person, but loyal and trusting.  He gets very affected after knowing the truth about Ben Hadley, who he thought of as his best friend. He had been fooled all along.

Expand full comment
Feb 22, 2023Liked by Elizabeth

Hi, just two little things:

(1) I was so delighted that you posted this discussion in time for me to get Still Life from the library again and actually get past page 35 this time. I loved it!

(2) I always thought that "surprised by joy" originated with C.S. Lewis, but it was actually Wordsworth. I do appreciate these little tidbits sprinkled throughout the text. ;)

Thank you!

Expand full comment

I've only read two Gamache mysteries so far. First, #4 "A Rule Against Murder", and then #1 "Still Life". So, in a way, the first book became the backstory for the fourth one (which I loved and have re-read). I agree with Mel's comment that the setting/characters were primary. I felt that the homicide investigation was the vehicle used to create an evolving mesh of characters and settings, rather than a straight-line solution to a murder. I loved that.

The title of this book was, to me, part of the mystery, and I'm glad the meaning wasn't alluded to until about the middle of the book, since it encapsulated the murderer's psyche - just one of several clues that Penny sprinkled throughout the book. I loved that, too.

Also, the poetry! I've got nine book darts in this book, and I think six of them tag fragments of poems. All give enhanced meaning to the story lines or conversations taking place and I hope this is a staple in all of the Gamache mysteries.

And, finally, Peter Morrow. To me (at least so far), Peter Morrow is a character where a little goes a long way. He functions well as a counterpoint to others, but he strikes me as having a level of dysfunction (damage) that makes me wonder what he might be capable of with the proper trigger. His saving grace in this book is when he lifts Clara out of her despair following Jane's murder and I'm so glad that Penny allowed him that moment. I am a bit distressed to learn, however, that he will be murdered at some point. Please, will NOBODY mention what book that happens in?? Thanks!

Expand full comment

The backstory change is, I think, just that. She also, if one follows through the series (and I hope this isn't too much of a spoiler), alters Gamache's appearance somewhat -- he becomes much less bald! There may have been intention, but it's entirely possible that she forgot this one line. My partner wrote a mystery last year, and commented on how complicated it is to keep track of all the characters, even in one book.

It's hard to talk about just one book when this is a very (in my opinion) complicated series, with a very long story arc that is, in some ways, unparalleled in other detective series. I realized that I hadn't read them all when I watched the TV series, and so hunted down what I didn't have. Later books made much more sense (hint: I highly recommended reading them all and in order) once I had the context of the earlier ones.

One character in the series that has captivated and fascinated me is Jean-Guy Beauvoir, who is a complex, damaged and evolving character throughout the series; even in Still Life, however, he isn't static and it's in this novel that we get the first glimpse of the complicated relationship he has with Gamache, when he has to ask Gamache for his badge and gun after the chief is suspended for refusing to arrest Matthew Croft. We are told that Gamache "cared deeply" for Beauvoir "like a son" but that Beauvoir had never shown him any feelings other than junior to respected senior. Gamache see's Beauvoir's pain at having to participate in the suspension as a "great gift" of knowing that Jean-Guy cares for him, in return. So much follows out of that!

Peter Morrow - wow. Another damaged character, in my eyes, even if he's just seen from the perspective of this book. He's emotionally closed off, doesn't appreciate or understand Clara's art (or won't because he deep down knows that it's better than his). He loves Clara, but there are a lot of conditions on it.

Expand full comment

The Three Pines mysteries have been on my TBR list for some time so I jumped at the chance to take part in the Inspector Gamache read along starting at Still Life.

We all deserve this charming place and it’s fascinating characters.

I find Gamache’s character to be thoughtful and compassionate toward the victim, his colleagues and the inhabitants of the villages alike. The fact that he is still shocked and saddened by murder is comforting.

I was intrigued by the change on Jane’s tombstone from Matthew 10:36 to “surprised by joy” and learning of the personal connection to the author herself was endearing.

I am now also giving W.H. Auden a read due to both Penny and another favourite author Alexander McCall Smith in his Isabel Dalhousie series.

Expand full comment

I just finished Still Life and moved on to A Fatal Grace. The Gamache novels are a treasure and I’m thrilled to go back to the beginning and re-read all of them, in order. I love being there with all of these characters.

Expand full comment

We meet the main characters in Still Life but “life” hasn’t happened to them yet. Or p’raps I better say that their separate lives have gone on but now they are in Three Pines. Armand and Reine Marie are outsiders to everyone else. Peter has from the start seemed shallow and damaged by family history, and his wife Clara, always unsure and insecure. She protects him when she should be liberating herself and her artistic gifts. I was sad about Peter’s story until I saw where Clara’s story could grow from her freedom. Myrna is Armand’s confessor - his dear Reine Marie a devoted genius wife. Myrna mentors the others. The poet Ruth Zardo has more facets to reveal...

I’ve just finished watching the series based upon the books. The books give me joy to read. The characters seem like people I want to know. But the series’ storylines went in directions I was uncomfortable in following. I understand honoring the tragedies of the lost women and children - unforgivable - but these are two separate entities. The shows made me sad.

Expand full comment

I just finished reading Still life. Loved it and the interesting complex characters. One thing bothers me, though. Why the loose end about Philippe having Jane's blood on his bike and clothes? Are we supposed to assume that he thought his arrow killed Jane and he unknowingly took Ben's arrow home to destroy it? Surely one character in the town could have been confused about the Croft family stories causing Gamache to explain it to them and so also to the reader.

Expand full comment